A Man As I See Him

A.B. Wisely
2 min readJan 30, 2021

--

With much love for all the men out there, those who already know who they truly are, and those who are yet to find out.

Photo by Amour Amelia.

You tell me: “One can’t trust a man”. “A man will play with anything if he’s given a chance to”. “He will stray and fail you in every possible way if you don’t keep an eye on him”. Like a little kid, really.

I tell you you’re telling me about a boy, not a man.

A man doesn’t play with girls as at this point of the game it is simply no longer of interest. A man is painfully aware of the limited amount of time this universe has allotted him and is dead set and determined not to waste an ounce of it. A man, my dear, who has evolved beyond a certain point of self-inadequacy, is the most beautiful thing I have ever seen. He’s dignified, wise, discreet, elegant by default not effort, kind, generous and he knows the truth, the one and only truth that every boy already feels at the very bottom of his heart, but his judgement is still yet a little bit too clouded to admit it: that the main, heck, the only reason he is here is to serve his woman and that his job is not, to the contrary of the opinion of many, to get ripped or rich, not even to find her out of a million. His only job, as God intended it, is to let life carry him, support him, break him down and build him up again until he stumbles, falls, raises his head and realizes: he’s here, he has arrived, and he is finally home…right at her feet.

A.B. Wisely 2021 ©

--

--

A.B. Wisely

I've been called a strong woman more times than I care to admit. Not sure when, along the way, I became strong. Or a woman for that matter.